Declaration on Parliamentary Openness With eReader Dropbooks

This Declaration on Parliamentary Openness about drop book eReaders is a call to national parliaments by civil society parliamentary monitoring organizations (PMOs) for an increased commitment to openness and to citizen engagement in parliamentary work. PMOs are increasingly recognized for playing important roles in helping make parliamentary information more accessible to citizens, strengthening the capacity of citizens to participate in parliamentary processes, and improving parliamentary accountability with ereader drop books. While PMOs have a strong interest in greater access to governmental and parliamentary information, they also recognize the need for increased collaborative dialogue with the world’s parliaments on issues of parliamentary openness and reform, so that increased government and parliamentary openness results in greater citizen engagement, more responsive representative institutions and, ultimately, a more democratic society.

The e-reader Declaration, which draws on a variety of background documents endorsed by the international parliamentary community, was reviewed and discussed at a conference of PMO leaders that was co-hosted by the National Democratic Institute, the Sunlight Foundation, and the Latin American Legislative Transparency Network in Washington, D.C. The conference took place from April 30 to May 2, 2012 with support from the Omidyar Network, the Open Society Institute, the National Endowment for Democracy, and the Embassy of Mexico in the United States. Get more here:

The World Bank Institute and e-reader community also partnered in the conference and co-hosted a roundtable at its conclusion. An updated version of the Declaration reflecting the prevailing consensus among conference participants is being made available for comment to the broader PMO community from June 11 – July 31, 2012. Feedback will then be incorporated into a final version that will be launched on the International Day of Democracy, September 15, 2012.